Power of the Pen

Lake Middle School Power of the Pen

The 2013-14 team has been chosen! Thirty-three students tried out this year. Our writers are:

7th Grade: Megan Arkwright, Eileen Copley, Aliza Finefrock, Gabe Erb, Laura Jentes, Ben Kelley, Jane Lanik, Rachel Vees,  and Alexandra Xuan.

8th Grade: Maddie Brophy, Ashlyn Fuller, Liv Madigan, Maddie Petruccio, Kami Rowe, Autumn Schultz, Alison Troyer, Emerald Watson, Jayne Yerrick, and Sophia Yoder.

Two LMS Writers to Be Published in Book of Winners!

Congratulations to the Power of the Pen team on their regional tournament at Malone University on Saturday, March 1. Thirty schools participated in the tournament.
Our creative writers brought home many awards:
  • For the second year in a row, 8th grader Kami Rowe won first place in the region for her grade level. Kami also received honorable mention for “Best of Round” in rounds 2 and 3.
  • Sophia Yoder won 2nd place for 8th grade.
  • Autumn Schultz received a Best of Round award for the 8th grade in Round 3.
  • Rachel Vees won 2nd place in 7th grade and Best of Round 2
  • The 7th grade writing team of Aliza Finefrock, Laura Jentes, Ben Kelley, Rachel Vees and Alexandra Xuan took third place overall in the 7th grade.
  • The 8th grade writing team of Maddie Petruccio, Kami Rowe, Autumn Schultz and Sophia Yoder placed fifth for their grade level.
  • And for the first time in four years, Lake Middle School students have won “Best of the Best” awards. Their winning stories will be published in Power of the Pen’s book of winners. They are 7th grader Alexandra Xuan and 8th grader Autumn Schultz.